Maybe Mom
A blog about infertility
Maybe Mom
- Maybe Mom
- United States
- This is a blog about my journey, hopefully, to motherhood. My husband and I are currently trying to conceive our first child with the help of assisted reproduction. We're so grateful for modern medical technology! The road to baby often leads to feelings of hope and excitement followed by sadness, anger and jealousy. I'll lay it all on the line here. Thanks for stopping by!
Pages
Tuesday, January 31, 2012
3rd Time's a Charm, maybe?
I took a few weeks off from blogging as I needed to get my mind somewhat off TTC. I felt better this cycle and tried to focus on what is going right in my life. As such, in about an hour I have my beta for the results of my 3rd IUI. I'm 12dpo and 14dpt. I can't believe it but I got light positives on three different tests this morning, a cheapie internet strip, FRER and Walgreens digital! I'm still not believing this is a true BFP until I get the results from my blood draw. I should know by this afternoon and I'll be a nervous wreck until then!
Thursday, December 29, 2011
12dpo Beta, so depressing
This morning I awoke and took a HPT. It was a big fat negative. Then I had my beta test done and the results came back negative as well. My emotions have been all over the place the last few days. One minute I feel numb and the next I'm crying and feeling heartbroken. I go back and forth between thinking that one of these times it's going to work and I'm going to get pregnant with a healthy baby and the next minute I'm wondering if it isn't meant to be. I know we haven't been trying that long and so far my body is responding like it should to treatment. There are so many women out there who have been trying for years and some who will never have a baby at all. I'm trying really hard to keep that in mind today. Clomid sure makes me feel gloomy though and it's hard to stay positive.
I think this next cycle I'm going to try and turn over a new leaf. It's time to get back to the gym, start doing more yoga and eating better. It certainly doesn't help my spirits when I'm eating tons of chocolate and hamburgers to make myself feel better for a few minutes. It's got to stop. I've got to start controlling my emotions and treating my body better. Hopefully that will lift my spirits and give me a sense of control.
Wednesday, December 21, 2011
I'm so evil!
So I know this woman who has a 2yr old boy. She's one of those women who really really wants a girl. She is also someone that plans everything in excruciating detail and pretty much always gets what she wants. She just makes things happen. We all know you can't really "plan" the sex of your baby so this is the one thing in her life she doesn't really have control over. Well, she is pregnant with her second child now and recently found out she's having another boy. I have to admit I smiled in inside when she told me. I had mentally prepared myself for her to get what she wants again and have a girl but no, it's a boy! I know it's horrible to be happy about something that disappointed someone else but I can't help myself! Here I am trying to get pregnant and would be thrilled for either a boy or girl and praying I get pregnant and have a healthy baby. I just can't wrap my head around people like her. You simply can't plan everything in life and you can't always get your way.
Saturday, December 17, 2011
IUI Madness
I just had my 2nd IUI. My regular doctor was off today since it's Saturday so I had to have another doc do the procedure. He had a heck of a time getting the catheter into my uterus! He finally had to use ultrasound guidance to get in. Low and behold he was successful, thank goodness.
I'm very frustrated though because we had to use frozen sperm this time since my husband's sister is in town this weekend. The timing this month was just horrendous! Because we have company my husband wouldn't have any privacy to produce a sample so we had to use our frozen sample. As such, I had to sneak out "for a doctor appointment" early this morning. I'm sure his sister is wondering why the heck I had to go to the doctor on a Saturday! Before the procedure the doc said there were 12 million sperm after the wash. This sounds like a crappy deal to me but according to him they want to see 10 million, so at least we hit the minimum. But I'm still uber pissed we couldn't figure out a way to use a fresh sample! The doc also said that you have the highest chance of getting pregnant in the first 3 IUI's and after that the probability goes down. This is not what you want to hear going into your 2nd IUI with stupid frozen sperm! This little tid-bit of information is obviously adding to my stress and anxiety about the probability of us getting pregnant with IUI in general. I mean what the heck happens if we don't get pregnant after 3 IUI's? Do we keep trying? Do we think about other options like IVF. I can't even go there mentally right now. As I was leaving the doctor handed me a prescription for Clomid and said "Here's this in case you need it next month". This did not leave me feeling too hopeful.
For some reason this cycle is seriously toying with my emotions. I feel like I just can't get a grip on myself. If only it were easy to put it all in the back of my mind for the next two weeks until my pregnancy test! My focus is going to have to change if I want to make it through the two week wait without driving myself crazy with thoughts of pregnancy. At least Christmas is next weekend to help distract me. My pregnancy test will be the week after. Praying for a Christmas/New Year's miracle!
I'm very frustrated though because we had to use frozen sperm this time since my husband's sister is in town this weekend. The timing this month was just horrendous! Because we have company my husband wouldn't have any privacy to produce a sample so we had to use our frozen sample. As such, I had to sneak out "for a doctor appointment" early this morning. I'm sure his sister is wondering why the heck I had to go to the doctor on a Saturday! Before the procedure the doc said there were 12 million sperm after the wash. This sounds like a crappy deal to me but according to him they want to see 10 million, so at least we hit the minimum. But I'm still uber pissed we couldn't figure out a way to use a fresh sample! The doc also said that you have the highest chance of getting pregnant in the first 3 IUI's and after that the probability goes down. This is not what you want to hear going into your 2nd IUI with stupid frozen sperm! This little tid-bit of information is obviously adding to my stress and anxiety about the probability of us getting pregnant with IUI in general. I mean what the heck happens if we don't get pregnant after 3 IUI's? Do we keep trying? Do we think about other options like IVF. I can't even go there mentally right now. As I was leaving the doctor handed me a prescription for Clomid and said "Here's this in case you need it next month". This did not leave me feeling too hopeful.
For some reason this cycle is seriously toying with my emotions. I feel like I just can't get a grip on myself. If only it were easy to put it all in the back of my mind for the next two weeks until my pregnancy test! My focus is going to have to change if I want to make it through the two week wait without driving myself crazy with thoughts of pregnancy. At least Christmas is next weekend to help distract me. My pregnancy test will be the week after. Praying for a Christmas/New Year's miracle!
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
IUI # 2
My 2nd IUI is scheduled for this Saturday. I'm feeling both excited and apprehensive about it. It's so hard to try and refrain from getting my hopes up that it will work. At the same time I don't want my thinking to be too negative about it either. In life in general, I of course have good days and bad days, but most of the time I have a very positive outlook on my life. Infertility certainly does a good job of challenging my optimism. But I will just keep moving forward and doing my best to trust my doctor and follow all of his instructions.
Friday, December 9, 2011
HSG Exam
| Normal HSG You can visualize the uterus and both tubes |
Thursday, December 8, 2011
My Favorite OPK Brand
![]() |
| Clear Blue Easy Digital |
When I first began tracking my cycles, that is, when we were toying with the idea of having a baby, I bought about 100 of those cheap internet brand OPKs on Amazon.com. I used them for almost a year and had so many frustrating moments trying to decide if that stupid pink line was dark enough to be considered positive or not! While they were cheap, they weren't the most reliable or very good at helping find your peak LH level.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


